Nord Stream Race |
The longest offshore race through the Baltic Sea, the Nord Stream Race has been organized by Saint Petersburg Yacht Club along with support from Gazprom since the first edition in 2012. Following the route of the pipeline that gives the race its name, the Nord Stream Race connects five Baltic countries: Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Finland and Russia. Since the first edition, 13 countries have participated in the Nord Stream Race including China and the UK.
The Nord Stream Race motto is "Connecting Baltics through Sport".
The best yacht clubs of the National Sailing Leagues from the Baltic countries are invited to the Nord Stream Race. The race's schedule combines offshore legs with inshore races.
Building on its great heritage, the Nord Stream Race continues to develop year on year. Following the growing trend for offshore racing, the Nord Stream Race is the only Baltic offshore regatta to be held in one-design ClubSwan50 boats. Victory cannot be achieved by technical advantage, only by superior crew skills. This is the reason why the Nord Stream Race silver trophy has become so desirable among sailors in the Baltic region.
This year the best yacht clubs of the National Sailing Leagues from the Baltic countries come together again for the seventh edition of the Nord Stream Race which takes place from 24 June to 6 July.
The History of Nord Stream Race
St. Petersburg — Helsinki — Visby — Greifswald
The first season of the largest offshore race in the Baltic the Nord Stream Race was held in the autumn of 2012. The route followed the Nord Stream pipeline and was divided into three legs. The best sailors from four European countries were on the start line. The EU-flagged team was fifth behind four other strong teams from different countries that best reflected the whole idea of the race.
>> to the gallery
Flensburg — St. Petersburg
Before the long non-stop passage through the Baltic, the participants of the regatta demonstrated their boathandling skills in the Nations Match Race coastal races, held a few days earlier.
This particular year the Swan 60 fleet was joined by the ORC division, making a total of 10 teams at the start, although for technical reasons only eight boats were able to reach the finish line.
>> to the gallery
St. Petersburg — Helsinki — Warnemünde
Among the participants in 2014 was a team from China, as well as a crew of young yachtsmen from Russia representing "Gazprom Youth Sailing Challenge". In addition to competing on the water, the battle unfolded in the galley. Hannes Graurok, Matthias Stolz and the winner of numerous awards, chef Andre Muenchu competed to demonstrate their skills in a stressful and confined environment, creating culinary masterpieces on board the Gazprom Swan 60 yachts.
>> to the gallery
Flensburg — St. Petersburg
The fourth season of the Nord Stream Race was held in the autumn of 2015. The organizers created a compelling battle on the water: professional crews demonstrated their mastery of the one-design 60-foot yachts in the picturesque Flensburg Bay. On receiving their prize money for finishing first in the coastal race, the winning team donated the money towards the World Foundation "Childhood".
>> to the gallery
St. Petersburg — Helsinki — Warnemünde
The fifth season of the Nord Stream Race was held in spring 2016. One of the innovations for this year was for each team to include at least three yachtsmen under the age of 25 years.
A.B. Miller (the chairman of the board of PJSC Gazprom) attended opening ceremony of the regatta.
>> to the gallery
Kiel — Copenhagen — Stockholm — Helsinki — St. Petersburg
The challenge of the Baltic attracted five teams, each representing the yacht club that had won the national sailing leagues of their respective countries the season before.
For the first time in the race a fleet of one-design "ClubSwan 50" was brought in to replace the "Gazprom Swan 60" class. Nord Stream Race 2017 was the first regatta where yachts of this one-design class competed on the open sea.
>> to the gallery
The Trophy of
Nord Stream Race
The founder of the cup of pure silver is the jewelry company Asprey, taking its origins in 1781.
Awards for the production of London masters are awarded to the winners of the Premier League football, cricket, horse riding and golf competitions.

Designed in a well-known theme, with amazing swan handles and a leg in the form of curved sails, echoing the Nord Stream Race logo. All this is placed on an elegant stand with tablets of teams-winners of the regatta.

Looking at the finished product, it is easy to understand why it took more than 50 hours of painstaking work of exquisite jewelers to manufacture it.
Media Archive
Race partners
General race information

Communications department

Race partners
Organised by